About Us

Chiasma is a national New Zealand organisation that creates links between academia and the wider science, technology and engineering (STEM) industries.

Our mission is to inspire and help our members to develop a successful career in the STEM industry by providing them with the necessary skills, networks and mindset.

In turn, these innovative, well connected and commercially aware graduates will contribute to the growth of New Zealand’s knowledge based economy.


Chiasma was launched in September 2004 by Priv Bradoo, Swati Sharma and Daniel Sun, three PhD students in the University of Auckland’s Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. Since then, Chiasma has grown into a thriving organisation, with branches in Auckland, Wellington and Dunedin and boasts over 3500 student and industry members. Each centre runs their own flavour of networking events, workshops, panel discussions, mentorship programmes and site visits tailored towards the local students and industry.

Chiasma Alumni Board

Ipshita Mandal-Johnson

2010 Auckland COO

Current Founding Partner & CEO at Global Bio Fund

Dil Khosa

2011 Auckland Secretary & Treasurer

Current Advisor & Ops, People & Culture Lead at Narrative Muse

Lillian Kuan

2008 Auckland CEO

Current Purchasing & Finance Officer at WOOP

Carthur Wan

2009 Auckland CEO

Current Sr Consultant at CIS & Director at GBR

Summer Park

2014 Auckland CEO

Current Senior Business Development Director at PharmaVentures

Dominique Squires-Newby

2015 Auckland CEO

Current Advisory Consultant at EY

James Daniell

2012 Auckland CEO

Current Manager of Computational Modeling & Design at LanzaTech

Mythreyi Ragavan

2007 Auckland Events Lead

Current GM Corporate & Digital Strategy at BNZ

Kaushala Ratnayake

2016 Auckland COO

Current Head of Strategy at Bauer Media UK

Sebastian Liu

2013 Auckland CEO

Current Territory Manager at Medtronic UK&I

Rory Besaans

2018 Wellington CEO

Current Research Technician at Riddet Institute

Vishwa Jani

National COO

Current Project Coordinator at Counties Manukau DHB